In case of button emergencies: Drink Mountain Dew.

Packing and organizing and throwing away!

It’s just so exciting, I could pop.

I was in our “office” the other day, sorting through things and deciding what I could pack now, and what needed to wait. I spied my external hard drives, and remembered the sad, floating-around-in-a-backpack treatment they received on the way up here (I know it’s irresponsible of me, don’t yell at me!) I decided something needed to be done about it this time around… so I gathered my crochet hooks and yarn and started creating.

I used yarn from my granny stripes blanket, so they are all very bright and colorful and exciting, and they make me want to dance. No, the granny stripes blanket isn’t done yet… but I needed a side project. You know… because I can’t concentrate on anything for too long.

I know what you’re thinking. “Lacey, what odd buttons!” And it is true, they are odd buttons. Just in case you were wondering… you cannot buy buttons in Glennallen, AK. They simply aren’t available. J and I searched four stores for buttons last Saturday… in one of them we found buttons, but they were tiny. Not normal button-sized. Ridiculous.

“How am I going to button these bags?” I asked J.
“Hmmm… I don’t know,” he answered, grabbing my can of Coke and draining it. I stared at the can, and a lightbulb went on in my head. I even heard a dinging noise!
When we got home, I dug J’s recently emptied Mountain Dew can out of the trash and stole the tab off of it and my Coke can. Then I informed J that he needed to drink two more Mountain Dews, as soon as possible. He didn’t complain.

It worked quite nicely, thank you.

And my hard drives are all nicely protected in their cute little (super colorful!) bags.
Yayyy!

One comment

Leave a Reply

