A little bit of everything (and an early Valentine’s Day!)

So, I haven’t blogged in a while… I would like to say it’s because we’ve been so super busy, but it’s actually because we haven’t been busy enough. It has been rather humdrum and routine-like around here… no kitchen explosions or moose hunts to write about.
So, I thought I’d just catch you up on the little things…

Like all the snow that is piled up in front of our house.
The world looks really pretty, even through our frosty windows.
And the fact that I learned an exciting new kitchen trick. Ever since we got up here, when I made bread, it simply did not turn out right… because it wouldn’t rise. I could NOT produce the big, beautiful fluffy loaves that I could in Alabama. It occurred to me that the main difference was humidity. So, what luck when I stumbled across an article called “Five Surprising Uses for your Microwave.” One of them was to put a mug of water in the microwave, and heat it up until the water starts steaming. Then, put anything you need to rise in there, WITH the mug… and voila!
The good news is, it worked! The bad news is, it’s hard to fit three loaves of bread AND a mug of water in our tiny microwave, so some stacking had to happen… which meant the bottom loaves had some funny indents in them when it was all said and done.
We are gaining a little bit of sunlight every day… today we reached a whopping 8 1/2 hours. It is wonderful to have sunshine streaming into the kitchen as I make dinner… something I never thought I would appreciate so much.
Also, we received a super exciting box in the mail the other day. Not only did it contain my new driver’s license (I’m getting SO CLOSE to officially becoming Lacey McMath!), but it had all of the needed supplies for a “Redneck Valentine’s Day.” My mom is super duper creative. She thought of everything… and they all had notes to explain their purpose.

Sparkling Grape Juice... a necessity for my family anytime there is ANYTHING to celebrate.

Fancy-Dancy plates to eat off of.

A candle for our table.

A new necklace. The note said to wear it with anything to add to the festivities!

Also in the box were cups, a tablecloth, “after-dinner mints,” one of those games with the balls attached to paddles that you are supposed to hit (for after-dinner entertainment), and a bottle of Dale’s Steak Sauce… Jonathan’s favorite marinade for porkchops. There was a note with instructions to get porkchops, add sides, and have a fancy dinner.
We had already had plans for Valentine’s Day, so we decided to celebrate a bit early. So tonight I decorated up the kitchen, we got all dressed up, and we had our fancy dinner.

Like my confetti? =D

Pink Lemonade is, of course, the perfect Valentine's Day beverage.

I think she actually intended for me to wear the necklace... but oh well.

Our dinner was AH-MAZING.

Tomorrow we are leaving for Fairbanks, where we start a super-duper weekend adventure. We catch a flight to Coldfoot, Alaska, which is very far north, in the Arctic Circle. We spend a few hours there and then get on a tour bus to make the trip back south. Rumor is, there’s a chance we will see the Northern Lights really well. Rumor also is that it will be super cold. Lots of tucking will be done. Hopefully there will be lots of pictures, too… maybe my camera won’t freeze to death (crosses fingers).

4 comments

  1. I love this blog, I love the confetti, I love the “party in a box” your mom sent, I love the sparkling cider (our family uses it to celebrate, too! Trent even looks forward to holidays now! ;), and I love the microwave trick (it’s so nice to run along little tricks that actually work)!!

    One last thing I love… YOU!!

    This could potential to be a Valentines poem! Well, maybe not, but it’s the thought that counts! 😉

  2. Oops…

    Correction #1: It’s so nice to run across (not run along)
    Correction #2: This has potential

    There could be more, but you get the point! 🙂

  3. Hi Lacey! Your steam for helping your bread rise also works in the oven if you need more space. If you boil a pan of water on the stove and put it in with the bread it helps it rise. Hope you have a great trip!

  4. I remember decorating for our first Valentine’s Day–and then I made the worst dinner ever! I will have to tell you about it sometime. It will just have to suffice to say that I was not quite the newlywed cook that you are! Poor Joey! Enjoy your trip!

Leave a Reply

