A shake and bake kind of day.

I got a super exciting package in the mail the other day. The address was in my mom’s handwriting, which means you never know what’s in the box. Sometimes it’s mail for me that had been sent to Alabama. Sometimes it’s fun things like a box of grits and a bag of pecans. This time, these little guys were in there:

They hopped out of that box, begging to be used. So, of course, I obliged.
Yesterday, I rolled up my sleeves, put on my handy-dandy apron, and mixed. Then rolled. Then cut. Which is my favorite part.

I just love when all the cookies are lined up in pans, ready to go in the oven.

(Yes, there is a little bit of segregation going on there. My OCD just couldn’t handle the risk of not getting a perfect pattern since I’m working with odd numbers, so I decided a straightforward approach would be best.)

I knew the cookies would be good, but little did I know that they were earth-shaking.
Just after I put the cookies in the oven, I put something else in the fridge. At the exact same moment the fridge door shut, the ground started to shake. Thinking, “wow, I must have slammed that door harder than I thought,” I started to make my way to the table… only to realize that I couldn’t, because the ground was still shaking. I glanced around the room and realized that everything was shaking. Our poor little Christmas tree was about to get un-decorated. The flowers on the table were close to meeting their fate on the kitchen floor.
My heart started to pound, and I got really scared, thinking that I was losing my mind. I braced myself until it stopped a couple of seconds later, then took off to look out the windows. I admit, my first instinct was NOT very logical… I thought a car had lost control on the road beside us and crashed into our house (in my defense, that road is super icy and slick as snot). After I looked out all of the windows and saw nothing, I started to explore other options. An earthquake? I knew they had earthquakes here… but I hadn’t ever experienced one, so I didn’t know what to expect.
I figured the only thing to do was ask, but I didn’t want to seem nuts. So I picked up my phone to text Jonathan… don’t think I’m nuts, but was that an earthquake?
Just as I was hitting send, he called me. “DID YOU FEEL THAT?” he asked. Relieved that I wasn’t crazy, I told him that yes, I had.
Apparently it was a 4.7 earthquake, 13 miles deep and 12 miles from here. Yikes. I don’t know what a 10 would feel like. And I don’t really want to know.
Anyway, just as my excitement waned, the gingerbread men were ready to come out of the oven, which made me excited all over again.

I waited until today to tackle “decorating” them. I wanted to give them little eyes and mouths and buttons and bow ties… but when I made the frosting recipe that goes with them, I realized that it is anything but decorator’s frosting. The idea of putting it in a plastic bag and piping it out was ridiculous, so I decided I had to go with the more traditional approach, and just frost them.

They are delicious, and I suppose it all turned out better anyway. This way, they can’t see you coming for them, and they can’t scream when you start to eat them.

Oh yum.

And today, to make things even better, Jonathan surprised me by bringing home a pumpkin spice latte for me in the middle of the day. It goes perfectly with a gingerbread man… it’s like a Christmas explosion in your mouth!

Oh, the carnage!


Leave a Reply

