I need subtitles for my dreams.

A new semester brings with it new adventures, new routines, and new classes.
Among my new classes this semester is a class called International Cinema. It’s a pretty self-explanatory class; we study cinema from around the world. I have been exposed to international movies very little… in fact, I think I could almost safely say, not at all. So I was really excited about this class.

The country we are currently studying is China. Yay, China! I’ve never seen a Chinese movie, and our first assignment was to watch Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. What a treat. It planted in me a desire for discipline, a love for subtitles, and the urge to take Kung Fu. Also, it made me want to try jumping off a mountain, just to see if I could fly. Instead, I jumped off the back of Kelsey’s sofa… and did not fly. I landed with a thud, and then limped my way to the kitchen to get my popcorn. Popcorn can fix anything.

We watched In the Mood for Love in class last week… another Chinese film. It was wonderful. It definitely made me cry a little bit. If you have not seen it, you should look it up. I’m not going to tell you what it’s about, because I want you to watch it for yourself. However, I will tell you that in it, there is a man and a woman who like to rehearse important events in their life… confrontations, exciting events, saying goodbye… they practice what they will do, what they will say, and how they will say it. It’s a cute little ritual of theirs.

And so, the night after we finished it, I was laying in bed when I remembered that something important in MY life was coming up soon- I couldn’t remember what, exactly- and I realized that I needed to rehearse it! It was EXTREMELY urgent, and desperately needed to happen. Who better to tell at that moment than my roommate?

“BERACAH!” I squeaked.
She didn’t respond, that I could hear.
“Beracah!”
She moaned.
“Beracah…. we have to practice! We have to practice the story!”
What story? my mind asked itself. I didn’t know… I just knew that there was some sort of story out there, and we needed to practice it, and SOON.
“Beracah, we have to practice the story!”
“What are you talking about?” She asked me.
“I- we- we need to practice!” Suddenly, as my urgency increased, my brain started to clear itself.
You are not making sense, my mind said. Yes, I am, I insisted. Nope, said my brain. You are talking in your sleep, and you sound like an idiot.
Then I realized that my eyes were, indeed, still closed. I forced myself out of my sleepy stupor and pried my eyes open. My roommate was across the room, partly sitting up, looking at me oddly.
“The story…” I said weakly.
“Okay,” she said, and then laid back down.
“Okay,” I answered, closing my eyes again.

The next morning, Beracah informed me that I had been talking in my sleep last night… again.
“I know,” I told her. “I woke myself up.”

All I can say is, if I have a tendency to dream about movies I’ve seen, I’m really REALLY glad Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon didn’t have the same effect… I sleep in the top bunk. It could have been bad.

Leave a Reply

