And the bride wore jeans and a t-shirt… and the groom didn’t care.

I watched Seven Brides for Seven Brothers last night. I love that movie! It’s an odd movie, when you really think about it, and as I was watching it I had to really think about what I liked about it. I decided I love the songs, the dances (the dance at the barnraising makes me smile big, every time), the colorful shirts the guys wear… But there’s also that romantic part of me that every girl has… the part that just melts at the idea of a wedding. And a wedding for six… it just can’t get better than that.
The beginning of the movie irritated me, though. I hate how Adam just rides into town, picks a girl, and she just goes with him, no questions asked. The part where Millie peers up at him from behind a cow and says, “Well… I’d have to finish my chores,” makes me want to shake her and tell her that there is no guy in the world good enough to just leave with! Make him woo you!
But later in the movie, as Millie expresses how she has always dreamed of a man coming in to sweep her off her feet, to make her his bride, I started to understand. Every girl has that wish… for a man to just come riding in on his white stallion, to rescue her from the evils of this world, and to ride off into the sunset with her… of course, it didn’t work out that nicely for Millie, but how often are things perfect like we want?

I’ve been reading Francis Chan’s book, Crazy Love. A chapter a morning, with my cup of coffee… well, an attempt at a chapter a morning. My morning routine has been changed around so often lately. But I’ve tried. This morning I read Chapter Six, “When You’re in Love.” He talks about how, when we are in love with someone, we are willing to sacrifice everything just to spend time with them. We drive hours and hours to spend time with them. We are willing to stay up late to talk with them. Walking in the rain is romantic, not annoying. We’re willing to spend a small fortune on gifts for them. We write them letters. Why aren’t we willing to put forth the same effort to get to know God? Because we don’t love him enough… or at least, I don’t.

And then I thought about Millie. I want to be like Millie. All it should really take is for God, the almighty, incredibly powerful God who made me and you and volcanoes and beetles and grass and clouds and gave someone the idea for the coffee pot… all it should take is for him to ride up, offer to spend even a little of his personal time with me… and I should be leaping at the opportunity. Forget milking the cow… I get to spend time with GOD! And he does that… every single day, without fail. God wants to spend time with me! And I don’t take him up on it! I don’t arrange to meet God somewhere, like I arrange to Skype with people I love. In the mornings, I check my phone first thing for messages… not my Bible. I find myself spending breakfast poring over Ted Dekker books… not God’s word.

But God doesn’t give up on me! I’m his bride, that he’s willing to spend time with all day, every day, and I ignore him. I should be completely enraptured by his grace, his power, his glory, and his love… but I’m not. And I want to be! I want to want God as much as I want humans.

O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water. I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.
Psalm 63:1-5

One comment

  1. I wrote this to you on fb chat but i don’t know if you got it…but i wanted you to know that I love you so incredibly much! It is awesome to know that i have a girl who wants to love God as much…MORE…than she loves me! That’s how it should be…God 1st, our relationship and family next. You do that…or at least are trying to do that! That means so much to me! I am truly blessed. I love you, sweetheart. ❤ I just can't let you know enough how much reading this…even though i already knew it…makes me giddy with excitement.

Leave a Reply

